Board Members

Building a prosperous future today requires dynamic leadership. Since their conception Community Action Agencies (CAAs) have utilized a board membership structure that harnesses the ideas of its primary stakeholders within the communities they serve:

  1. Businesses & other private sector organizations;
  2. Public sector service organizations; and
  3. Representatives of the low-income community.
The Board of Directors is the primary force approving the agency’s strategic plan, organizational structure and operational capabilities. Its members provide fiduciary oversight and review, confirming HACAP’s financial structure and commitment to program compliance. Through board member vision and guidance, HACAP annually reviews its successes and plans for the future.

Bringing these community stakeholders together, allows HACAP to better serve the residents of our six-county service area. By drawing upon insights from different sectors of our community, our Board of Directors generates viable solutions that fit the local economy. By providing opportunities to improve the economic conditions, surrounding low-wage households, we can make eastern Iowa a better place to live.


  • John Brandt, President
  • Tammy Wetjen-Kesterson, Vice-President
  • Ed Raber, Treasurer
  • Danielle Kirkpatrick, Secretary
  • Dale Walters
  • Wayne Manternach
  • Lynette Jacoby
  • Ron Bennett
  • Jason Sanders
  • Nate Jensema
  • Tom Petersen
  • Cory Handfelt
  • Sr. Susan O'Connor
  • Susan Salter
  • Cliff Campbell  
  • Steve Pace