Mission Statement 

Helping people develop skills to become successful and build strong communities

Our Vision

A thriving community where all people have the opportunities for success

A group of volunteers pack boxes

Our History

Hawkeye Area Community Action Program, Inc. (HACAP) began service for Linn County in 1965, following the enactment of the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964. This act provided for the development of community action programs that provide: "services, assistance, and other activities...to give promise of progress toward elimination of poverty." (EOA of 1964, Sec. 202a). This federal law provided for community-based efforts to minimize the negative impacts of low-wage incomes upon families and the community overall.

In 1968, Linn, Johnson and Jones Counties merged to form Hawkeye Area Community Action Program, Inc. Iowa and Benton Counties joined HACAP in 1973 and Washington County was added in 1981. Today, HACAP provides a variety of anti-poverty programs and collaborates with community partners to serve individuals and families within a nine-county region that included Dubuque, Delaware and Jackson counties in 2020. 

Add Impact to your inbox.

Join our amazing community and get all the details on programs, the HACAP impact and ways you can support your community today!


Follow Us!